City Commissioners

The City of Sunny Isles Beach operates under a “Mayor-Commission-Manager” form of government. The City Commission is responsible for the setting of policy, approval of budget, determination of tax rates, hiring and firing of the charter officers, and the development of community land policies. The City Manager is selected by the City Commission and is responsible for the administration of all departments and divisions of the City government and for carrying out policies adopted by the City Commission.

Current Elected City Commission

Mayor Larisa Svechin
Larisa Svechin

Commissioner Alex Lama
Alex Lama
Vice Mayor / Commissioner
Central Area – Seat 2

Jeniffer Viscarra, Sunny Isles Beach City Commissioner
Jeniffer Viscarra
South-Central Area – Seat 4

Jerry Joseph
Northern Area – Seat 1

Commissioner Fabiola Stuyvesant
Fabiola Stuyvesant
Southern Area – Seat 3


The City Charter provides for a City Commission that is vested with all legislative powers of the City. The Mayor and four Commissioners are elected to serve for four-year terms.

Registered voters Citywide elect a Mayor; four residential area commissioners, (one residing in each designated area).

Elections are held every even-numbered year, on the second Tuesday following the first Monday in November.

Upcoming Election Dates

    • General Election – Mayor, Commission Seat 2, Commission Seat 4
      November 8, 2022
    • General Election – Commission Seat 1, Commission Seat 3
      November 5, 2024

Election Information

Voter Information