Election Information

For Federal, State, & County Election Information visit MiamiDade.gov/elections.

Local Municipal Election – Sunny Isles Beach

Any person, who is a resident of the City, has qualified as an elector of the State, and registers to vote in the manner prescribed by law shall be an elector of the City. All elections for the City Commission and Mayor shall be conducted on a nonpartisan basis and no ballot shall show the party designation of any candidate. A General Election shall be held in each even-numbered year in conjunction with Miami-Dade County General Elections.

Voter Information

General Election

A General Election was held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, for Commissioner Seat 02. Below are the official results:

Seat 02:

  • David Y. Grossman  1,699 (35.31%)
  • Felix Kizhner  952 (19.78%)
  • Alex Lama  2,161 (44.91%)

A runoff election was held on Tuesday, December 4, 2018, between David Y. Grossman and Alex Lama. Below are the unofficial results:

  • David Y. Grossman 709 (39.39%)
  • Alex Lama 1,091 (60.61%)

The Official Candidate Qualifying Period commenced on Tuesday, August 14, 2018, at 9:00 am and ended on Friday, August 17, 2018, at 4:00 pm. Below are the names of those that officially qualified:

  • Office of the Mayor – George “Bud” Scholl
  • Commissioner Seat 02 – David Grossman, Felix Kizhner, and Alex Lama
  • Commissioner Seat 04 – Jeniffer Viscarra

Pursuant to the Charter of the City of Sunny Isles Beach and Section 26-13 (G) of the City Code, “No election for Mayor or any Commission seat shall be required in any election if there is only one duly qualified candidate for Mayor or for any Commission seat. That candidate shall be considered elected automatically.” Therefore, no elections were held for Mayor and Commissioner Seat 04 on November 6, 2018.

“Each Commissioner and the Mayor shall be elected at-large for four-year terms by the electors of the City in the manner provided in Article 5 of this Charter.” [Municipal Charter § 2.3(a)]

“Persons running from a particular Residential Area must be a resident of the Residential Area which s/he proposes to represent on the Commission at the time of qualifying, at the time of his/her election and must continue to reside in such Residential Area during his/her term of office.” [Municipal Charter §2.3(b)]

“Only electors of the City who have resided continuously in the City for at least one year preceding the date of such filing (and in the respective Residential Area from which the candidate may seek to qualify for election) shall be eligible to hold the office of Commissioner, including Mayor.” [Municipal Charter §2.4]

Explanation of “at-large” – All the registered voters in the City vote for each seat regardless if the voters live within the boundary of that seat. Every resident has the chance to vote for each commissioner or mayor for every seat in the City.

*All necessary documentation to run for office may be obtained from the office of the City Clerk.

Elections & Voting

Electoral Districts