Women's History Month March 2023

Celebrating Women’s History Month in Sunny Isles Beach

Women’s History Month gives us an opportunity to shed light on the contributions of the many women who have been influential in our city’s history. This March we recognize four women who have left an extraordinary legacy in Sunny Isles Beach — Dr. Connie Morrow, Lila Kauffman, Roslyn Brezin, and Senator Gwen Margolis.

Dr. Connie Morrow Former City Commissioner 1997 - 2001

Dr. Connie Morrow was one of the first commissioners elected in 1997. She served on the commission until 2001, also holding the position of Vice Mayor from 1999-2000. As a philanthropist, Connie was very passionate about encouraging children to pursue the arts. She also led the drive to position the City as a destination for fashion, film, and entertainment.


Lila Kauffman Former City Commissioner 1997 - 2003

Lila Kauffman was one of the City’s first commissioners elected in 1997. One of her greatest accomplishments during this time was leading the creation of the city’s cultural events and programs, which would later become known as the Cultural & Community Services Department. She also served as Vice Mayor during her time in office.


Roslyn Brezin Former City Commissioner 2003 - 2012

Roslyn Brezin was appointed to the City’s Charter Commission in 1997. She was later appointed to the City Commission in 2003, where she was re-elected until terming out in 2012. Of her many achievements, she was most passionate about expanding programming for our senior community and the beautification of our parks. Affectionately called “Roz” by all who knew her, she was an active member of our community until her passing in 2019.


Senator Gwen Margolis Former State Senator 1980 - 1992, 2002 - 2008, 2010 - 2016

Gwen Margolis, a former Florida Senator, will long be remembered in our city as an integral player in the city’s incorporation. She was a strong advocate of the citizen group that wanted to pursue incorporation, and later appointed the City’s Charter Commission in 1997. She was also the first woman in the country to become a Senate president and a staunch advocate for women’s rights before her passing in 2020.