Officer Norbie Alvarez Takes Officer of the Year Honors for 2014

January 27, 2015

By Chief Fred Maas

On Thursday, December 18, 2014, the annual police awards for the City of Sunny Isles Beach were held at the Government Center in Sunny Isles Beach. This annual recognition honors the Best of the Best in specific categories, including Humanitarian and Community Policing efforts.

The coveted “Officer of the Year” award always highlights the program and is presented by the Mayor and Commission. This year, every City Commissioner, elected and appointed, new and veteran was there to show their support to our police agency. For that, we are all grateful. They were proud to honor and present to Officer Norbie Alvarez, the 2014 Officer of the Year Award. He is a 20 plus year veteran of law enforcement and has extremely good sense of fairness, judgment and experience. His peers respect him greatly and he is a Supervisor’s dream to have on their squad.

Other recipients of awards were:

Mike Tribby                                                Civilian of the Year

                  Gabriel Benitez                                          Lifeguard of the Year

                  Capt Mike Grandinetti                            The Parrillo Award

                  Det. Luke Plesa                                          The Bill Lone Award

                  Officer Russell Ridley                              Spirit of the City Award

                  Civilian Mario Matos                               Spirit of the City Award


                  Det. Luke Plesa

                  Sgt. Blake Royal                                       Segal Award for Investigative Excellence

                  Det. M. Mariabello                                 

All of the awards and categories above denote specific accomplishments and/or qualities pertinent to that award. Each award is significant of high achievement or humanistic qualities that represent the award for whom it is named.

Captain Mike Grandinetti was the Project Manager along with Detective Luke Plesa for the “LPR” (license plate reader) system that detects vehicles used for criminal activity that enter our city. This program has been a huge success for law enforcement as a crime fighting and prevention tool.

Officer Russell Ridley has long been a champion for the underprivileged and those in need. Without any want for recognition or attention, he is often times noticed for assisting others in need, including the homeless, the hungry and his own colleagues. He is the first to volunteer for charitable efforts or fund raisers and then recruits others to help as well. He has been with this agency since the very first day and is highly recognizable in the community for his kindness and helpful attitude. Present for this award were his wife and son, which made for a very special day for this recipient.

Congratulations to All!! Your accomplishments are a win for our entire community.

#61 2014 SIBPD Annual Awards (30) - Photo by Mike Tribby
L to R: Vice Mayor Jeanette Gatto, Commissioner Isaac Aelion, Commissioner Jennifer Levin, Officer of the Year Norbie Alvarez, Mayor George “Bud” Scholl, Commissioner Dana Goldman.
#62 2014 SIBPD Annual Awards (27) - Photo by Mike Tribby
City Manager Christopher J. Russo presents the Spirit of the City Award to Officer Russell Ridley
#63 2014 SIBPD Annual Awards (12) - Photo by Mike Tribby
Vice Mayor Jeanette Gatto and Chief Fred Maas present The Parrillo Award to Captain Mike Grandinetti